mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
PMAC
    Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:49 pm

Hello all,

I am new to this site, and was referred by someone over at the miller forums.

I am brand new to welding, in fact I havent even started yet. I am trying to find a welder that I should buy to get me started.

I have a guy from craigslist selling a used lincoln weld pak 155 for 300 bucks and was wondering if that is something you would buy if you were me?

I dont want to spend over 1000 bucks to start welding since I never welded before. I am actually a finish carpenter by trade and closest thing I did to welding is soldering water lines. I know thats not welding but its as close as I have done.

Also a guy has recommended the longevity 140 mig welder, it seems to be an off brand name and watched the comparison video to the hobart. Anyway I was looking at the longevity line and saw the longevity 200s mig welder, that also lets you do stick welding it think up to 200 amps. Would you consider a longevity or stay away from them? I would really prefer a miller(which seems so expensive), a lincoln or even a hobart. So I am really confused, and would just like to get something to get started but I dont want to just get garbage say like harbor frieght, and I dont know maybe the longevity is in the line of the harbor frieght type.

Please help,

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Pat M aka PMAC from Pittsburgh, pa
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there,

Heres some info I found regarding smaller mig welders, Lincoln v Hobart. I can not vouch for any of these machines but that doesnt mean they are bad.

http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=58331

Also, one of our Brethren, on this forum, CraigLam bought a little lincoln recently. Im sure you could Personal Message him for details. This is a link to his posts.

http://forum.weldingtipsandtricks.com/v ... 8816#p8816