mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
burnttoast
    Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:28 am

Hello all, I'm just a hobbyist welder. presently I use a lincoln 225 ac stick welder. whenever I watch these car fabrication shows, they're either using mig or tig welding. I might want to invest in another welder for welding thin stuff, but because I only do this occasionally, don't want to invest a lot of money into this. I'm contemplating a flux core welder, but I was wondering if flux fore is just as strong. also, what's with these show guys welding without gloves? I was watching the guy on custom garage mig welding a body panel sans glove. Is he that good, or do mig guys have super powers?
    Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:52 am

Hey there,

It may help to mention what your budget is. I'm not much of a mig guy but I've been looking to get into a mig machine myself for my home shop. I can share with you what I understand that may help you out.

Firstly, flux-core that is not NR232 or NR233 should never be used in a structural or safety application. NR211 is probably what you would see in a home depot welder and is banned for all code work. That being said you are likely not doing code work, but it is something to keep in mind. Ex. Is this thing I am welding on going to be put into service with certain loads that may cause it to break? What happens when it does.. etc.

That out of the way, don't let that stop you from grabbing a flux core if that is all that is in your budget. I'm sure you'll learn quite a bit from using it. Flux core wire is primarily used when shielding gas is not available, such as an in the field application, or when shielding gas would be blown away by the wind. A proper mig would be a good idea if you plan to grow into it. You can run flux core wire and proper hardwire from one. Some more budget friendly machines like the Lincoln 210MP can run dual shield 71M which gets you similar weld properties as an ER7018 stick electrode.