Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Brad.O
    Mon May 05, 2014 7:25 pm

I found some scrap stainless the other day and thought it was about time i gave it a try. I am using an Everlast 140st lift arc on 240v with 3/32 lanthinated tungsten. 1/16 308L filler, #8 cup with a gas lense on a 17 torch and 15cfh of argon.Image
So I started out on the top left at 40amps. It took a few moments to puddle and was very slow travel. I bumped it up to 60amps then progressed all the way to 140 amps on the last row. I see it progressively lost its coloration. Was this due to the faster travel and losing gas shielding? Or does stainless not change color at higher temps?

After a little wire brushing.Image

Any input is apreciated as I am just learning TIG.
AFR_Autoworks
    Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:35 am