Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:20 pm

Since I am new to TIG welding and have become pretty damn good at regrinding tungsten's due to frequent dipping :roll:

There have been a few times when I have to totally remove the collet to get the tungsten back in the torch. I noticed the o-ring that seals the back cap is getting beat up. Sometimes it is up on the threads when I remove the cap. Is there a hi temperature lube of some kind I can put on the o-ring to help keep it in the groove? Any tricks you guys have?

And what kind of o-rings are these that stand up to the temperatures in the torch. I want to order some to have replacements.
Brian

Miller Thunderbolt 225 AC/DC
Everlast 255EXT with W300 cooler
Hobo Freight 170 MIG Welder

melsdad wrote: There have been a few times when I have to totally remove the collet to get the tungsten back in the torch. I noticed the o-ring that seals the back cap is getting beat up. Sometimes it is up on the threads when I remove the cap. Is there a hi temperature lube of some kind I can put on the o-ring to help keep it in the groove? Any tricks you guys have?

And what kind of o-rings are these that stand up to the temperatures in the torch. I want to order some to have replacements.
Not sure why this would happen, anyway the o-ring should be available as a replacement part from your supplier.

Viton o-rings are good up to 400°F
Richard
Website
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

100 % silicone o ring lube from Grainger is what I use on o rings that may see chemical or high temp service. Made by jet lube. Down side is its 75$ a tube. And it will collect lots of grinding dust and nastyness in a place where you don't want it!
I have more questions than answers

Josh
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am