Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Practicing my titanium TIG welding. I'm a hobbyist, just toying around for now. I wanna give a shout out to Zank for his contribution to my titanium tig welding. ;)

Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:38 am

Looks like Zank's tips are paying off...

Kym
    Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

I have to weld some titanium at work from time to time. I usually have some color around the welds. I was wondering if that is bad and what problems it could cause.
Freddie

big gear head wrote:I have to weld some titanium at work from time to time. I usually have some color around the welds. I was wondering if that is bad and what problems it could cause.
The straw and blue colors are due to the Ti not being shielded until it's cooled to 800F or less, if its gray or very dark blue then this is worse. If you're welding to a code or customer spec then they should say what is acceptable, usually a straw color would be accepted.

If the part is for a corrosive environment the contamination would effect the service life of the component.

Here is a chart form Miller's website.
https://www.millerwelds.com/resources/a ... -practices
Attachments
table2jpg.jpg
table2jpg.jpg (41.57 KiB) Viewed 770 times
Richard
Website
    Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

The parts that I weld are used in acid. That is why they are made of titanium. I just get some straw and medium to light blue. Titanium does make some pretty welds and it flows very easily.
Freddie

big gear head wrote:The parts that I weld are used in acid. That is why they are made of titanium. I just get some straw and medium to light blue. Titanium does make some pretty welds and it flows very easily.