Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
LIGOOMBA
    Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:18 pm

I mostly look and read here.Dont post much cause my welds are not that good and I'm still very new.
Miller SD180 A/C balance set about half way.WP20 water called torch.
3/23 2% lanthinated
1/16 4043 filler
15 CFH
1/8 aluminum
Anyone tell me what went wrong.I really don't have any experience with aluminum.Maybe a week or two ,few hours.I actually attempted aluminum cans and decided I needed more help on thicker aluminum .LOL !
How come the ones I numbered appeared to come out really nice and smooth.The ones with the arrows pointing to them got all messed up.
All I can think of is it was dirty .
Cleaned it best I couod with acetone and dedicated S/S brush .
I KNOW I RAMPED OFF AT THE END TOO FAST CAUSE AND IT CAUSED A CRATER .IM STILL A ROOKIE WELDER
Louie ("aka"Long Island Goomba)
BWR
  • BWR
    Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:19 pm

The rest of your welds do not look to bad, dirty material could be part of your troubles. A aluminum flap wheel will work good to clean the material and they make an acid to clean aluminum that works to. But be careful that stuff is really bad if you get it on you. A few other things to consider is torch angle, tungsten contamination, filler metal contamination. I hope this helps.

-Brad
dirtmidget33
    Tue May 13, 2014 5:22 pm

Traveling to slow and overheating the aluminum causes that grainy appearance with 4043. also if you have to long an arc length which increases voltage causing more heat. I would say its travel speed, looks like those beads have more etching around them compared to some of the others. which if you slow down and dwell in an area to long you get more etching and heat input. Try setting you AC balance so you have 30% positive (cleaning) and 70% negative (penetration) your etch zone is pretty big around welds.