Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
TwentyFourSeven
    Sun Aug 24, 2014 4:41 pm

I am very new to welding. Two weeks ago I never welded anything in my life. I own a pool fence company, I was useing a welder to make my gates but paying out the butt for it and he became un reliable so I just bought a Lincoln tig 225 (very nice machine) The aluminum tube for the gates is only 1/16" thick. I have the Lincoln auto dark helmet. The problem I am having is the amps are turned down to 60 to weld the thin aluminum. Even then most of the time the foot peddle is only half way down. This obviously makes the arc not very bright and the lowest the helmet will go is 9. I can not see very well on the lowest setting. I have a manual helmet with a #7 lens in it and its pretty bright and allows me to see perfect but does not have the luxury that comes with the auto dark helmet. I have a couple of questions.

First question, how do I know if 7 is not dark enough and damaging my eyes while tig welding at 60 amps? I am not getting any red dots left in my eyes and I have instant vision when I stop welding. I might try an 8 lens but the 9 is definatly too dark with the low amps.

Second question, does anyone make a helmet that auto darks any lower than a 9? What is everyone else doing who is tig welding with low amps?