Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
88MOOSE88
    Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:13 am

Hi, everyone

I'm an apprentice pipe welder, I have passed 2 codings both in full tig, I am currently trying to learn the through the pipe technique in 6g, where you hold the filler through the pipe and build a bead inside the pipe.

I've watched loads of videos on youtube, especially a user called fieldres. What I find hard is keeping the filler in the pool it's hard to keep the surface tention for any longer than a couple seconds.

I mainly weld stainless steel pipe.

I've asked my mentor at work but he doesn't say much about it, he always does the dip method. I've just noticed that you can build better reinforcement when in the 6g position.

I'm one of those guys who prefers a heavier root rather than a shallow blend in on root passes

Any tips on amperage or just general technique

Thanks

Brandon "moose"
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Brandon, in the U.S., that technique is usually called, "back-feeding" the root.

I've never done it. Most of my welds require flat to slightly positive penetration, when root penetration is critical.

There have been some discussions of it here, so try using the search with the keywords "back feed", and see what you find.

Steve S
coldman
  • coldman

First of all I would urge caution in trying to lay too thick a root pass, this is the most common cause of lack of fusion or cold lap in root passes. You can use second or third passes to really boost fill but there are no short cuts with consistent root passes in my experience.