Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Attenurb
    Tue May 13, 2014 1:31 pm

Hi, newbie here,
Wanting to know how best to weld 4340 low alloy steel blocks 2"x2"x3" to 1/2" x 3"x 4"mild steel plates to mount ]. They are the dies [1 upper die and 1 lower die], for an air hammer I am building to forge knives - save my arm after 22 yrs by hand. [TIG preferred, or Stick + what rod?]

On your video to weld 4130 low alloy steel you recommend E70S2 mild steel rod, to preheat part, and go slow. Is this the same method/rod with 4340 low alloy steel? It has a bit more carbon and the addition of nickel to the chrome/molly mix.

Even though forging or forge welding the steel is hot [1500F. - 2500F. - forging to forge welding range], and therefore plastic, mild steel as dies just don't hold up and the 4340 like the 4130 steels work harden besides, make great dies.

Couldn't find it in the forum search, but maybe I am not using it correctly, so decided to post my question here.

DB
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm

There are far better qualified here that I expect will chime in - but the laymans answer is if you Tig dissimilar alloys then 309 ( L / LSI ) is considered the norm - but on bigger pieces such as yours I would stick weld them - again with a dissimilar rod such as Esab almat - these are usually in the austenitic stainless group with a general designation between 309 / 312 according to make.

Sounds an interesting project & welcome to the forum.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

I think, in this case, 4340 to mild (a36?), the ER70s-2 Jody recommended for 4130 should be a good choice, especially if you intend a pre- and post-heat/slow cool. I'd normally be in agreement with 309, but for an air-hammer, I'd like to see a more consistent carbon-content change across the weld profile. I'd suggest a 3/8" weld in three passes.