Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
janjon
    Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:24 pm

Hello, noob here! Any thoughts on amperage settings for welding 4130 tube, coped joints, (roll cage) .083 wall cage to .056 wall support. Using Diversion 180, ER70-S6, E-3 tungsten. Having hell with blowing holes in either the thinner-wall 1-1/2" .056, or the edges of the 1-5/8" .083, which is notched to fit over the .056. Dealing with less than perfect fits, as well, in some places.
I have been attempting mid 70 settings.
    Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:14 pm

I don't know much about welding....but my learning curve on .035" wall tube was lot different that what I thought. If it were me doing the cage...I would set the amps to 130 or so. Long needle pointed tungsten with a gas lens and 20 cfh. Puddle up on the thicker wall tube to start. Make a couple practice joints...very close fit ups are needed for nice welds. No gaps or mill scale allowed. Clean with acetone before tacking up....I will try and find some drops and put a junction together today. I would rather use ER70s-2....seeing as you are giving the weld area good cleaning...
But that's just how I would go at it....YMMV
Building an airplane is at times somewhat like a divorce.....with the exception that she doesn't leave
J.J. Flash
coldman
  • coldman

130amps is way too high for these joints. I think you are close to where you need to be, maybe some method tweeking. Others with much more experience with these joints will be along shortly and give you the best advice.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum janjon.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:46 pm