Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Colt45GTO
    Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:42 pm

Hi,
been watching the vids on youtube and trying to take in the tips and tricks.

i have a Thermal Arc Arcmaster 175TE tig/stick welder. its a great unit its the man holding it that isn't.

unfortunately it has no option for foot peddle so its a latch torch. probably nothing wrong with this except the man using it.

ok i weld with gas perfectly have done since 1982 i have started to work with stainless so gas welding isn't an option or is it? anyway i believe tig is probably the best.

i use the stock lens with a #7 shield i have the machine set to normal trigger on HF Tig (not sure what lift tig means) i have the argon set to 20cfm and alter the voltage/ampage to suite my steel thickness. the machine has no pulse feature and i have no patience. i only have no patience because i am a perfectionist and like to get control of things quickly.... i have had this tig since 2011 and i still suck.

am i trying to run before i can crawl? had about 30 hours on it trying to figure this out over the past year and a bit but would really like to get to use this effortlessly for what it has cost me.
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm

Hi - welcome to the forum from a fellow new(ish) member.

Just looked up your machine - looks basic - but fine to start with if you don't need AC for ally work.