Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Brendan
    Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:48 am

Hi Folks,

I am relatively new to TIG, and am practicing welding some 18GA, 3" 304SS Stainless Exhaust Tubing. I am using 1/16 2% Lanthanated Tungsten, .04" Filler (308L?). Backpurging with Argon, #8 Gas Lens, ~15CFH flow rate. I think my peak amperage on the welder is set @ 35A

I know that I need to practice and work on my consistency, but the problem I don't seem to understand is that I appear to be "outrunning" my gas coverage in certain scenarios. For example, if I weld a 4" bead around the diameter of the tubing, the first 3" might turn that dull grey color, where the last inch where I stop welding will remain covered by my post-flow shielding gas, and end up a nice gold / colored shiny color.

Any hints for this? It seems obvious that the metal is still too hot when the shielding gas stops covering it. Do I need less torch angle so more of the gas flows "backward" over the portion of the tubing that I just welded? Move faster with higher amperage? Move slower? More gas flow? Different size cup?

Thanks for the help.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there,

Yep try less torch angle, around 25degrees or if you think of the pipe as a clock, 11 or 1 o'clock. Also, only have the tungsten sticking out of the torch as little as possible. no more than 3mm.

Mick
ajlskater1
    Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:32 am