Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
TaylorBlake
    Tue Jun 29, 2021 9:43 am

Hey guys I am new to this page and fairly new to welding... I am a boilermaker apprentice and I have a question about a tube test coupon... is a loose 3/32 gap with 3/32 filler wire on 100 amps ok? I want to make it as easy as possible for me and I don’t wanna mess up when it comes test time... I use lay wire technique... thanks guys I would appreciate all the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Amps are normally dictated by the thickness of the metal, not the wire or gap. And of course, position of the weld. Any further information you can provide to get more specific answers?
TaylorBlake

Schedule 80 2” tube and also scratch start or lift arc?

Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

100amps might be a little high. Try 90 amps to start with and work up from there if you need to. Lift start is better than scratch for sure.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
TaylorBlake

3/32 or 1/8 tungsten? Which is better to use for root pass and what amperage for each?

Coldman

I use 3/32" for everything.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

TaylorBlake wrote:3/32 or 1/8 tungsten? Which is better to use for root pass and what amperage for each?

don't even look at 1/8 tungsten until above 200 amps or so.
tweak it until it breaks
KenO
    Sat Jun 19, 2021 8:21 pm

I'm an old retired BM tube welder. I have taken hundreds of those test to get hired.
Your coupons are beveled with a knife edge for the TIG root, I would start at around 50 amps. If your too hot, and drop a bump inside, or too much push through, you will get looked out before getting to the stick out. I liked a 3/32" gap, and used 1/8" filler, no chance of the filler wire falling through on the inside. This is personal preference, some do the opposite.