Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
sms986
    Thu Oct 01, 2020 4:53 am

I know you're already rolling your eyes, but yes, I'm completely new to welding. This is my introduction, but I wanted to post it here, in the topic area I'm here for.

I am a very hands on worker and I'm good with just about anything I put my mind to. I enjoy engine work, fiberglass, and woodwork.

I've always wanted to learn to weld, but being that it's a big investment for something that may not work out, it's always been on the back burner.

Well, I decided to build another boat-this one aluminum. I'm having a reputable company build the hull, but I'll have to make some small stuff like deck framing and the engine cradle.

I had a guy down here who just started learning to weld a year ago. He puts in a lot of practice, but here's no pro, just an older gentleman who wanted a new hobby. I recently had him weld part of my aluminum planar fin back onto an outdrive, and he charged me $100 to do a whopping 3 inch butt weld. I'm not kidding, he said it took him 4 hours to do. At that price, I would be buying him a new house to help weld some things for a boat. This is when I decided to learn myself.

I don't have time for classes (full time job and a full time engineering grad student), but I have an hour or so every night to practice, and I won't be doing anything on the boat until I am confident. I also don't want to learn from YouTube because it becomes the classic deal where you learn to do something from a video and someone comes along later and said "oh they didn't mention that you have to use this instead of that." So I'm here, to ask specific questions and hopefully get helpful answers.

I'm using 6061 aluminum, and I basically need to learn everything.
G-ManBart
    Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 am

Welcome!

Do you have a TIG welder yet or still need to buy one?