Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Kfactor239
    Fri Jan 03, 2020 12:18 am

I'm a pretty good tig welder but I need some help. I'm welding in some subframe connectors on my firebird and most of the welding is overhead. What are some of the tricks to keep the puddle from falling?
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Manage the heat, and use a smaller filler wire. Tight arc, and off you go.
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm

CLEAN and when you think it's clean enough, clean it again and wipe it with acetone or some type cleaning solvent. Make sure brake lines and fuel lines are not around or well protected.
cj737

BillE.Dee wrote:CLEAN and when you think it's clean enough, clean it again and wipe it with acetone or some type cleaning solvent. Make sure brake lines and fuel lines are not around or well protected.
Not sure how this effects the puddle succumbing to gravity?
Kfactor239

I did pretty good today. I cleaned everything up again. Turned my helmet down to 10 switched to a #5 cup from a #4 brought up my argon from 12 to 15. I did manage to blow a hole. Started to fill it up and instantly discovered why they sell leather welding jackets. Got burned not too bad but enough. Went to my welding supply store and bought one gladly paid $115 for it. I should have known better.
Kfactor239

I watched this video on YouTube https://youtu.be/6-ouU6l7h34 this guy is amazing. I've been trying my best to keep my rod next to my torch like he is saying in the video and it has helped alot.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

cj737 wrote:
BillE.Dee wrote:CLEAN and when you think it's clean enough, clean it again and wipe it with acetone or some type cleaning solvent. Make sure brake lines and fuel lines are not around or well protected.
Ultra clean material allows you get the puddle formed and welding as required without having to pump in too much heat to cook out contaminates