Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jcw
  • jcw
  • Workhorse
    Workhorse
    Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:31 pm

Can some of you experts take a look at this video and comment on the pulsing frequency?

https://youtu.be/uPDBWjl6PBI

I think he's welding thin gauge titanium.

He has a bunch of pics on instagram that are amazing.

Just wondering about the rather slow rate of pulsing and if it meant anything.
MarkL
    Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:09 pm

I'm not an expert, but I use pulse a lot. He's using a frequency that makes my brain shutdown. I use pulse at 1 or 2pps to help me control the heat when welding thin material and to give me a sense of timing for dipping evenly. My machine only goes up to 20pps, but I've used machines with much higher pulse frequencies and other than the screeching noise from the inverter, I can't say the pulsing helped or hurt anything I was doing.
Lincoln Square Wave 200
Lincoln 225 AC/DC
Harris Oxy/Acetylene torch

I don't think there's any secret here, most use either a very slow pulse (1-3 PPS) or over 20, in between these it seems the flashing arc can be very disorienting, yet some hate the whine of higher pulse ranges.

Pulsing can help with reducing heat input and to provide a stable arc, and a better looking weld. There's such a wide range of possible pulse settings, and with the uniqueness of the weld joint, experience helps in deciding what settings to use.

I don't believe that (typically) there is just one possible set (of pulse settings) that will work for a given weld joint, and if you aren't using that setting you'll mess up.
Richard
Website
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am

Some people practice their timing with pulse. I don't use pulse often but when I do I like it over 50 PPS. Less than that drives me nuts.
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

comment? annoying
jcw
  • jcw
  • Workhorse