Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
PaterNovem
    Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:33 am

Total noob here with TIG welding. Well... Noob on all this really...

I've watched Jody's aluminum drill videos about 20 times, starting to quote him in parts of it. Got my aluminum, some filler material. Using 3/16 aluminum (what I got from a remnant pile) and 3/32 lanthanated tungsten. Foot pedal set to 150 amps max (so, not stomping on the peddle all the way maybe using 120 amps?), 10-15 scfm argon, AC, AC balance about 65%. Everlast TIG welder. Cleaned aluminum with acetone prior to welding.

Seems that once I get the puddle started, I go along pretty well. But, I have trouble getting it started. I can see the arc start, see it clean thru the oxide layer and start, but when I go to move and add filler, the filler balls up, gets all gooey (technical term, I know...). I'll bugger around with that for a second or two then all of a sudden that stops and I'm going along kinda making dimes, adding filler. The beginning part looks like crap, the rest, still crap because I need to getting better at this but it looks like a weld.

So, at the start of bead, do you have to go low amps to high? Or just hit it? Do you have to pause at the start longer? I do notice that Jody seems to pause at the beginning.

Thanks!
Save your life; turn off your TV.
Polobbie
    Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:35 pm

I would try the following in the order below.

1. The AC balance on your everlast machine provides an electrode positive reading which is opposite Miller machines, so you should set it at 25% or 30%. 65% on that machine is going to burn up your electrode and rob tons of heat from going into your aluminum.

2. I would bump your amp setting to 170 or 180. That will give you the start up punch you need to get your puddle going quickly using full pedal before backing off a little to run your bead.