Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
EXP500
    Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:52 pm

Hey guys I'm a newbie, will be graduating from south texas college next month, I'm fairly proficient at welding and well I love to question my teachers and even they can't really give me a real answer, now my question is in the 8010 5/32 rod lets say the cap pass on 5G 6" pipe sch.80 to be elaborate before anyone starts with lack of information. Now going downhill I ran a test piece doing whip and pause and 1 drag, I didn't really get any undercut with either, I did prefer how the drag looked over the whip and pause, my actual question comes from the pattern of whip and pause vs. Drag. Drag doesn't look to have trapped any slag but is technically complete fusion aposed to whip and pause? If you say that whip and pause gets better penetration lets call it a preheat before the weld is made if you understand that. The 8010 just a straight drag downhill lets say 135amp, is that complete penetration/fusion? We do not have non destruction testing so which do you all use in patterns? And what is technically correct and why? If you say it NEEDS to have whip and pause any time running a 6010/8010 rod then why is it during a root pass downhill everyone just drags? I always have complete penetration there so what's the difference?

-pete
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, Pete,

I think it's purely a matter of personal preference. Ask 12 welding inspectors which they rather see and why, and you'll probably get 13 answers. I should mention I've not done pipeline, so have not done a xx10 cap, just root and hot-pass, but I've seen just as much debate between drag ("bury-rod") and whip/pause there, as well. My personal preference is to crank up the heat and drag it, because I can't make whip/pause look as good as my drag. The cleaner weld makes it easier to see I've not missed some slag before the next pass (xx18, in my case).

Steve S
EXP500
    Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:52 pm