Metal cutting - oxyfuel cutting, plasma cutting, machining, grinding, and other preparatory work.
Adam
    Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:54 am

I was talked into a Hypertherm 30XP... Anything you'd buy / have on hand other than what came with the thing? I know it's a small machine, but 99% of the stuff I will be doing will be way under 1/4" and 3 minutes of cutting is a LOT of cutting.

So if you have any tips and tricks you can share for small machine cutting, that'd be great. I see a bit on the forum, but it seems centered around commercial use and larger machines.
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm

I've no personal experience with that unit - but Lanse has several videos on his channel using his new 30XP - I think his most recent showed a consumable kit that included a narrow kerf nozzle - he showed it cutting thin material as a demo of the cleaner cut & less heat / distortion on the part - you may want to get that kit - other than that as per any plasma cutter I'd look at your air supply & concentrate on keeping it as clean & moisture free as practical or funds allow.

Why would you need talking into a Hypertherm ? I was led to believe they are among the top machines - work great & have great backup plus they're made in the US - not imported - the new 30 seems like a very nice machine for it's size - perhaps you could review yours once you've used it a bit.
motox
    Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:49 pm

photo 1.JPG
photo 1.JPG (94.92 KiB) Viewed 1835 times
photo 2.JPG
photo 2.JPG (98.52 KiB) Viewed 1835 times
adam
i have a older regular hyper 30 and it has worked great for
stuff up to 1/8" cuts sheet metal clean and quick.
great tool
htp invertig 221
syncrowave 250
miller 140 mig
hypertherm plasma
morse 14 metal devil
Adam

noddybrian wrote: Why would you need talking into a Hypertherm ?