Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
sru_tx
    Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:53 pm

Even though I've already posted a question on the TIG forum, I should probably introduce myself here.

Teaching myself to TIG weld. I worked as an electronics engineer for 30 years, most of them in a scientific research company. Worked with and designed a lot of high vacuum equipment with lots of pretty stainless and aluminum machining and welding. Always admired it. Towards the end I started doing 3D CAD design for my own experiments and really enjoyed it. My electronics job was slowly killing me although I still enjoyed building things and solving problems.

I tried my hand at something completely different, dog training, for a couple years but it avoided what I was good at.. building things.

Father was a woodworker so I picked up those skills too. Have a MacGyver gene in me for sure. Can make lots of things out of wood but somethings just aren't meant to be wood (cars, bikes, etc.). :lol: I took a few one-night MIG classes at a local Makerspace on a lark. Enjoyed it. Got the bug and wanted to learn more. Bought a TIG and a plasma cutter, packed my handbasket, and headed off on a new adventure. (Gotta love a supportive wife!)

that's about it. practicing. making mistakes. lurking on the forums.
Figuring out what I want to be when I grow up.

Better to be a "Learn it all" than a "Know it all"
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, Steve,

You're in good company... We have several members who got hooked on welding AFTER another career.

I got in to welding as a kid, just to not pay someone else to stuff I wanted done. I never viewed it as a career choice, and actually studied electronics in college. Welding was always in my bag of tricks when I needed to earn some money, though, and I eventually realized I enjoyed it.