Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
    Wed Aug 19, 2015 11:19 pm

I purchased my first welder about 2 years ago and have been working on learning by watching Welding Tips and Tricks videos, reading Forums, and practicing. I won't say I am a welder as there is still a lot of trail ahead of me to get to that outfit. I am just an out of the house (as opposed to outhouse) hobbyist who has come to enjoy burning metal. I am working on learning both MIG and TIG, primarily in Aluminum or is it Alumineum.

So far I have built a welding rack for my welders (who has not done that), put a custom bench / storage box in my Jon boat, raised the consoles on my Jon boat by welding 2" x 5" rectangular tubing under the original consoles, and put a custom splash well in my Jon boat. Current plans are to build an ATV Trailer, custom gas tanks for the Jon Boat and an 11' skiff. Probably need a little more practice before I start the airplane.

Thought I would try joining the conversation to tell some experiences, ask some questions and share some learning. Attached are a couple of pix of my latest project, please feel free to critique or suggest.

Cheers
Attachments
Some MIG Welding on the box structure
Some MIG Welding on the box structure
Boatbox15.JPG (129.86 KiB) Viewed 911 times
The boat box without the top
The boat box without the top
Boatbox5.jpg (147.29 KiB) Viewed 911 times
Some TIG Welding
Some TIG Welding
Boatbox1.jpg (128.71 KiB) Viewed 911 times
Some more TIG Welding
Some more TIG Welding
Boatbox14.jpg (163.29 KiB) Viewed 911 times
Final Boat Bench / Storage Box
Final Boat Bench / Storage Box
Boatbox9.jpg (119.29 KiB) Viewed 911 times
Jim S.
Miller 211 Autoset
Everlast 255EXT
Everlast Water Cooler (2)
Everlast PowerPlasma 80S
Longevity 250MP
Lincoln 350MP Aluminum
Hypertherm 30Air
Everlast 350EXT
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, Shipj0,