Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
FJ RB25
    Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:59 pm

Hi all
I am new to the forum so wanted to introduce myself.

I live in Perth Western Australia, heavy duty plant Mechanic by trade ( work on Earthmoving equipment diesel mechanic in the mining industry for 20 years)

I have played around with mig, stick, oxy acetylene, and arc air for years but have never needed to use a Tig welder and have always been told that it's really really hard to use.

After speaking to some friends who have experience with Tig I have been convinced that it's really not too different from oxy acetylene welding which I can do easy so I'm going to give Tig a go.

The reason I am wanting to learn how to use a Tig is for a number of reasons.
I'm into my hot rods and have a need to manufacture induction pipes, rust repairs and have a custom steam pipe manifold to construct

also I have a Stainless Steel hand rail that I need to construct around a high wall so my kids don't hurt themselves.

So like any journey it starts with the first step and I am looking forward learning something new.

All the best

FJ RB 25
    Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:30 pm

welcome to the Forum....
Just a couple welders and a couple of big hammers and torches.

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024
coldman
  • coldman

Welcome FJ.
Stay cool man.
FJ RB25

Cool now

Different story on the weekend when it was 44 deg c
    Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:30 pm

Welcome FJ! You won;t have any trouble picking up Tig having used oxy in the past. You'll just have better control. :)
Go break something, then you can weld it back the right way.

Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum F J RB25.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
FJ RB25

Thank you for the welcome guys