Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
aircraftmechanic802
    Mon Dec 09, 2019 11:40 am

Good morning, new member to welding lab!

I currently work as an aircraft mechanic in a small shop in the northeast trying to increase my skills by adding additional welding knowledge and abilities, mostly in TIG or gas welding. This site has helped with answering questions over the years as I have learned and built my skills while doing night classes at the local tech center.

However, now is time to take the big leap and buy my own TIG welder. After using other aircraft mechanics machines and different tig welders at the tech school I have narrowed down my options.

Currently looking at the Lincoln aspect 230 with an air cooled torch. It is comparable to the miller dynasty 210 with features and capabilities but for considerable less money. I don't have experience welding with either of these welders but both come from legacy companies. There is not much information out on the aspect 230 as it seems to be a new release but, comes is very similar to the aspect 375 which as very good reviews.

If you have any information about the aspect 230 or a different recommend for a welder appreciate the help. Below I will list the sort criteria I am looking for.

Thanks for the help!

Material: Mostly aluminum and 4130
Thickness: .020 - .25
Inverter style with flexible power options.
Customizable features to include various AC waves, frequency, balance, pulse, and start options.
Soft starts for very thin material but has the range of amps for thicker material
Duty cycle with approx. 150 amp 100% duty cycle and decent duty cycle at higher levels
Prefer a legacy brand.
dgapilot
    Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:00 pm