General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
infernoST
    Thu Jun 02, 2016 10:12 am

Hi All
I just ordered my tungstens, 1 box of 2% lanthanated 1/16th and 1 box of 3/32nd 2% lanthanated. Which filler materials should I purchase for the TIG and the Stick electrodes (Not good with the numbers yet, i'm just getting started). I will pick up a bottle of Argon locally unfortunately it will have to be a smaller bottle so I can handle it and fit it in my car.

Thanks
Keith
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Welcome. How big is you machine? And what kind is it? Depending on how many amps you have and what features it has will determine what kinds of rod and rod sizes that will be recomended.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
infernoST

Poland308 wrote:Welcome. How big is you machine? And what kind is it? Depending on how many amps you have and what features it has will determine what kinds of rod and rod sizes that will be recomended.
The machine is an Everlast PowerTig 210EXT, AC\DC 210 amp Tig, 160 amp Stick.
Keith
Artie F. Emm
    Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

You'll need collets and collet bodies to fit your tungsten (1/16 and 3/32) AND your torch. Then you'll need ceramic cups that you select to accommodate the thickness of metal you're welding on. The Miller TIG weld calculator offers a cup size (as well as tungsten size, gas flow rate, amperage, etc.)
https://www.millerwelds.com/resources/w ... calculator

If you're ordering online, I've had good experiences ordering consumables from WeldingCity.com.

As for stick electrodes,
/ edit / cut / snip /