General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
lil'bones
    Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:30 am

Hey guys, I am an instructor at a trades school and we are looking at recording some video for students. I was wondering what type of video cameras work best for filming welding? The videos on this site are excellent quality and we are hoping that the students can view the puddle as well as can be on this site. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thank you
Last edited by lil'bones on Sat Aug 16, 2014 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:06 pm

I believe that they just use a cheap camera from walmart. I read that somewhere on here and I heard others talk about it. Some people put the camera in the helmet to cut down on glare. I have never filmed welds but that is what I heard and read. :)
It's always best to build your own, especially when it comes to hitches!!!
Matt
dirtmidget33
    Tue May 13, 2014 5:22 pm

I'm pretty sure some of those great camera shots Jodie does is some wacked out, out of postion welding and he has that camera in the way of seeing what he is doing. I think our mentor could weld blind if he had to LOL. I know I wouldn't want to weld on camera and with it being in the way on top of that. Plus he welds customers stuff a lot of times while doing it. :o I wouldn't want to explain to customer that I messed up there 1000 dollar part they just had machined cause I was filming it on camera :cry:
why use standard nozzles after gas lens where invented. Kinda of like starting fires by rubbing sticks together.
    Mon May 12, 2014 12:06 am

Seems like any HD camera mounted behind an auto darkening face plate would work...
Glen
Miller Dynasty 200DX - Millermatic 350P - Hypertherm Powermax 45 - Hobart Handler 150
Drifta-X
    Mon May 26, 2014 2:53 am

Something like sheleft cam glasses would be gun
I have a soldering iron!
wrinkleneck
    Fri Aug 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Jodie don't visit here and reply.